Received wisdom

We . . . write to heighten our own awareness of life. . . .  We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospection . . . . We write to be able to transcend our life, to reach beyond it . . .  to teach ourselves to speak with others, to record the journey into the labyrinth, to expand our world when we feel strangled, constricted, lonely  . . . . When I don’t write I feel my world shrinking. I feel I lose my fire, my colour.

 – Anaïs Nin, The Diary of Anaïs Nin, V.5

 ………………………………………………………….

We do not write in order to be understood; we write in order to understand.

– C. Day Lewis, The Poetic Image

5 Comments »

  1. adamsemail said

    I like the the C. Day Lewis quote. It reminds of a line in “Illusions” by Richard Bach. “We learn best, those things we already know.”

  2. asmokescreen said

    @adamsemail:

    Hmmm. I guess we all make our connections …

  3. Quirky Indian said

    I’m with Day Lewis on that one.

    Cheers,
    Quirky Indian
    http://quirkyindian.wordpress.com

  4. Aradhana said

    First- great blog. But I want to ask very emphatically,
    whe are no comments allowed on the earlier posts?
    There is so much to say about just the first angst images. Maybe that is why- fine, I’ll go off and start my own blog:) Thanks for the inspiration as well!

  5. Thanks Aradhana.

    Ummm … I’ve very reluctantly opened up to comments, so don’t force me back into my shell, OK? 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

